Since September 2010, this blog has recorded the journey of this music junkie as I attempt to listen to all the music in my CD collection. CDs revisited in their entirety from start to finish - no skipping tracks, no shuffle. Compact Discs only - no vinyl, no tapes, no files.

Thursday, September 29, 2022

Stanley Turrentine - T Time (1995)

I recently rescued this CD from the $1 clearance bin. It's an enjoyable effort from the veteran saxophonist in which he mostly re-records some tunes from earlier releases, including a take on his signature tune, Sugar, re-titled A Little Sweetness. My only complaint concerns the choice of using synth pads instead of bringing in a real string section, but that's a minor quibble.

Peak on the US Billboard Top 200 chart: Did not chart

  1. Don't Mess With Mr. T (original Turrentine version on the 1973 album, Don't Mess With Mr. T)
  2. A Little Sweetness (1970 album, Sugar)
  3. I Haven't Got Anything Better To Do (1971 album, Salt Song)
  4. Impressions (1970 album, Sugar)
  5. Terrible T. (1989 album, La Place)
  6. The Island (cover of an Ivan Lins tune)
  7. Touching (1989 album, La Place)
  8. Side Steppin' (original composed by guitarist Dave Stryker)

The previous owner of this disc had indicated their favorite tracks by writing on the disc itself in red pen: "1, 2, 7, 8" and while I prefer track 5 to track 8, I'm pretty much in agreement with that opinion (except the writing on the disc. Don't do that, folks.). However, there's nothing to skip here - while the album concept/theme of re-recordings gets a bit redundant, the performances here are first-rate and everything swings.

Personal Memory Associated with this CD: None

Previously revisited for the blog:
The Best of Stanley Turrentine (1990)

No comments:

Post a Comment